Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Who Am I?

Some of you might be wondering who I am and why I’m writing this blog, so here we go!

I’m Anne-Sophie, 21, French, and I study English Literature at the University of East Anglia in Norwich. I’ve always lived in France and even went to university there for two years. There, I studied “English Literature and Civilisation” but since the course was a mix of tons of useless things with a bit of literature and translation, I dropped out and applied to university in England. Apart from literature, art and music play a big role in my life: I’ve been playing guitar since the age of thirteen, and I also started learning flute, melodica and bass recently. 

Me UEA blog

Applying independently as an EU student wasn’t always easy: I had to send numerous emails to different universities to get my French Baccalaureate grades converted as A-level marks, apply for the IELTS (International English Language Test System), understand the UCAS system, manage to get in touch with my college teachers for Reference Letters, write my personal statement… But fortunately, all the people I emailed, whether it be for UEA or other unis, were nice and a few people around me helped a lot too! I was lucky that my grades were good enough to be able to apply for English Lit everywhere.

When all this was sorted out, I sent my UCAS application: the universities I’d chosen were UEA, York, Warwick, Exeter and Bristol – UEA being my first choice. On the 22nd of November, a week before my birthday, I received an email from UCAS saying : “Something has changed on your UCAS application; please log in to UCAS Track to view the changes.” I’m sure you can imagine my reaction when I logged in and saw this:

It was a dream becoming true. However, I still needed to fully convince my parents to let me study abroad. I’m sure you can guess the end of the story : my parents accepted and I moved there on the 17th of September 2014!

In this blog, you’ll find a lot about student life at UEA, the campus, Norwich, what it is like to study English Literature, clubs, societies and just life in general! I would be very happy to answer your questions or write specific articles for you, so just let me know what you’d like to see her 🙂

I am also a Student Vlogger now! You can visit my Youtube channel here.

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

