Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Settling In at UEA — Arrival

When we arrived at UEA, we were taken to the Congregation Hall: I quickly collected my keys, signed some documents, and the staff drove me to my accommodation. It didn’t even take half an hour, I have to admit I’m quite impressed by the organisation (especially after going to a chaotic uni in France). They even carried my luggage up the stairs for me! I felt more welcome than ever! Everybody was so nice and friendly to me that I immediately felt at ease.

Photo0841

My accommodation is the Uni Village, it’s a 15 minutes walk from the campus centre (the Square). The rooms there are all en-suite and they’re cheaper than the en-suite rooms on campus. On top of that, the flats are smaller so I figured it’d be easier and quieter to share a flat and particularly the kitchen with only 8 people.

Photo0648

Upon opening the door to my room, I could have thought: I CAN FINALLY SLEEP! But to be honest, I was just excited to unpack and make the room my new home. I was so happy. Even though it was empty, it looked nice and cosy. I was actually gladly surprised by the size of the room which I thought would be smaller. I already pictured myself in there, and I could imagine all the fun times I’d have in my flat, even though it was just me the first day. However tiny, the bathroom is convenient and I’m glad I don’t have to share it. As long as you’re not the size of a sumo, you can fit in the shower – which is good news for most people!

Here are a few pics of the uni village rooms in case you’re curious! They’re all the same so that nobody feels jealous.

IMG_3721

Massive wardrobe!

IMG_3728

IMG_3723

If you need to pee,
That’s the place to be.
(Enjoy my poetic couplets! I’m a Lit student, after all.)

 IMG_3725

Since I was the first one to arrive, I got to pick my cupboards and fridge-shelf in the kitchen which was nice. It’s not like it makes a true difference, though it makes me feel like the veteran of the flat. I remember having this empty kitchen to myself for three days: it feels weird thinking about it now that everybody has moved in. It seemed very big but when everybody is in, I can guarantee it seems much smaller! Once again, as long as you’re not a sumo…

IMG_3714

Grande cuisine, beaucoup de rangement, frigos

I had the whole afternoon to start unpacking and make myself home. After decorating my room with tons of photographs and some posters, it felt much better! I even had time to visit the huge campus! I waited for my boyfriend though, I was scared of getting lost on campus. I couldn’t believe how large it is, starting with the massive Sportspark. The first evening, international students were offered free meals at The Campus Kitchen which was so cool because I had no food or kitchenware.

I spent the next two days visiting the campus (and I got lost a few times), unpacking everything, going shopping, solving a few administrative issues, like opening my bank account… The first days went very fast, I was so busy. That weekend, all the English students finally arrived, and UEA felt truly alive. Seeing everybody move in with their families and hear their impressions upon opening their rooms for the first time was cool! I’d already met some of my flatmates on Facebook through the University Village group so it was great to finally meet them (as long as many other people).

Photo0686

That evening, when everybody was settled, we all gathered in the kitchen, talked about our families, hobbies, courses, exchanged our phone numbers… I felt more and more at home and was relieved to get on well with my flatmates. Later we decided to go to the nice pub on campus and got a few drinks there. We stayed and chatted there for a while. The next days we spent a lot of time together, exploring the campus. That’s also when we discovered the impressive library. I literally got lost in there. But it is also an exciting place for resources and to study, especially in the “silent rooms”. I can definitely picture myself spending a lot of time in there.

The first week was also a busy one due to induction lectures, fresher’s events… I got to meet more people than ever, and it was reassuring to see that everybody was in the same boat. It is the first time leaving home for most people, and we are all focused on our studies and on being social. My first days at UEA were amazing, and were the start of what I hope is going to be an awesome year. Even after two weeks, I keep discovering places around the campus (there is a nice lake, and so many parks and green spaces), in the city, and most importantly, I’m having a lot of fun.

 IMG_3831

There were Fresher’s Events on campus as well. Even though I didn’t attend these parties, my friends told me about them. It sounds like they had so much fun and got to meet tons of people. The second week, there were also a few events in Norwich in clubs as part of Fresher’s Week.

I’ve only been here for two weeks, and it both feels like two days and two years. Me and my flatmates feel like we’ve known each other for a long time, which is probably the best thing about UEA. Class also started and the teachers all sound so enthusiastic and interesting, so I am more motivated than ever about my studies. I was slightly worried about being given too much independence all of a sudden, but I’d change it for nothing in the world.

11 comments on “Settling In at UEA — Arrival

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    31 July, 2016

    This is probably a weird question, but do you know what shared showers are like? I know your room was en-suite, but maybe you know someone who was sharing the bathroom. Like, is there a room with a shower and then some space to change? Or is it more like a camping thing, a row of shower cabins? It’s ridiculous how hard it is to find pictures of the UEA shared shower rooms. 😂

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      31 July, 2016

      I don’t know how or why but I’m pretty sure I’ve had a quick look at one of the shower rooms in the Ziggurats! I think there are two, and each has a shower, a sink, a toilet and space in the middle for you to get changed 🙂 So it’s not like camping. It’s one things I complained about before, there’s barely anything about accommodation on UEA’s website. I wish I knew someone who lived in Norfolk or Suffolk Terrace to make a video like I did with the village rooms. Maybe you should do it, it’ll be really helpful for future students!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        31 July, 2016

        Thank you so much! I’m really picky when it comes to privacy, I can’t imagine walking around after a shower with nothing but a towel, so I’m glad to hear there’s room to change!
        There are a couple videos that show the bedroom and kitchen, but no one ever films inside the shower rooms for some reason!

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        31 July, 2016

        I totally understand, I’d hate feeling like I lived in a camping or something. Privacy is super important for me too! That’s so weird, one of the first things I’d like to see is the bathroom.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        31 July, 2016

        Maybe I will film a general tour. The first few days are supposed to be quiet, since only the international students have arrived, so maybe I’ll get an opportunity to record everything.

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        31 July, 2016

        That’s a great idea! And you know, my accommodation tour was actually just a quick video I’d made for my family to see 🙂 It stayed on Youtube as “unlisted” for a while!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        31 July, 2016

        That’s fun haha. I’ve been thinking that I would love to do some blog posts about applying to uni as an EU student; UCAS was quite confusing for me, getting a reference was weird and

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        31 July, 2016

        True, I don’t remember all the process well — it feels like it was ages ago — but I know it was super confusing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        31 July, 2016

        My comment was sent unfinished, lol. I was saying that I think an application/UCAS guide for EU students would be fun to do!

        Like

  2. Pingback: First Blogiversary | Anne-Sophie at UEA

  3. megalomania29
    7 September, 2015

    Reblogged this on Anne-Sophie at UEA and commented:

    This article is the first one I ever wrote for my blog… Looking back, it means a lot to me because it was the start of a new life, and lots of things have changed since last September. Leaving my home, parents and brother was a huge (and scary) step forward in life, but I think I dealt with it pretty well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

