Anne-Sophie at UEA

Three years of my life as an EU student of English Literature at the University of East Anglia,England.

Joining Societies at University

As an English Literature student, I thought that joining the Literature Society would be a great way to meet people on my course and to get tips from 2nd and 3rd year students. And indeed, people are so nice there. For the first time in my life, I felt at ease with tons of people who share my love for literature and books. However, remember that societies are open to ANYONE regardless of the course you are doing.

We all meet once a week for a discussion group about (surprisingly!) books, for two hours! Each week, we have a new topic, discuss it all together, and then split into small groups. After each sessions, I usually have 20 new books to add to my reading list though – which I might never have the time to read. Afterwards, people go to the bar on campus after the meeting and the committee organises socials throughout the year!

427882_10151255563123417_991504736_n

It usually costs about £3 per year to join a society at UEA, and there is something for everyone: the Quidditch Society (they even travel to other unis for the “World Cup”), Concrete (UEA’s newspaper), the music and live music societies, law, pharmacy,, Erasmus, Malaysian, assassin (don’t worry, they use fake guns), sexpression, fetish, board games, yoga… And that’s without mentioning the wide variety of sports clubs! 

IMG_3827

My main advice for freshers is to join a societies and/or sports clubs, because it makes meeting people much easier and you’ll really need to take a break from studying sometimes! 

7 comments on “Joining Societies at University

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    31 July, 2016

    I will definitely be joining UEA Pride and the Gymnastics club. I’m also thinking Concrete might be fun, as I love writing. I wasn’t sure about the Literature society before, but you’ve made it sound like a lot of fun!

    Are sports clubs more expensive than other societies? I feel like they should be, because they need equipment and a place to train. I really wanna join the Gymnastics club, but I’m scared it might be too expensive.

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      31 July, 2016

      You get go to clubs and societies for free during the first couple of weeks before paying anything 🙂 It gives you a chance to see what it’s like and make up your mind. Yeah, you do pay more for sports clubs before of the equipment and insurance. I can’t remember how much it is, it must be about £20 per year. There’ll be stands at the societies’ fair so you can ask all your questions there!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        31 July, 2016

        Oh, £20 per year is fine! 😊
        I like that you can go to the societies for free at first to see if you wanna stay. 😃

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        31 July, 2016

        Yeah, the whole system is really well designed and people are really friendly at the societies’ fair!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        31 July, 2016

        I was worried that the Gymnastics club might be too fancy, but I’ve seen pictures and videos and it seems very casual. I wanted to join something similar here in Spain but everyone was supposed to wear glittery outfits, which, like, no thank you. 😂

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        31 July, 2016

        Oh my god, that’s so ridiculous! I think you can just wear whatever you want. I know the president of the gymnastics club 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        31 July, 2016

        Yep, that’s what made me want to join! It looks so chill and just casual.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

