Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

A Year Ago

Applications for university are probably over now, and many people will come for open days soon…which reminds me of last year.

This time last year, I was still living in France with my family, and I still want to university there. Although UEA had sent me an offer a few months before, I was still not sure whether I’d move to England because my parents still needed to think about it. It was really stressful, and I couldn’t even visit UEA because it was too far. Later, when I was pretty sure I would go to UEA, I got an email from Student Finance saying that I couldn’t get the full loan for my course which, once more, meant that I had to reconsider my plans. Until at least April, I stressed a lot and didn’t know what I’d do. 

Eventually, my parents accepted to let me study in England (thank you mum and dad!) and here I am! I’m extremely grateful for being here! I also feel like most English students had a completely different experience since they were still in Sixth Form, hoping to pass their A-Levels and only got their results in summer.

And you, where were you this time last year? Has anything unexpected happened to you?

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

