Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Global Opportunities Week

Last week was the Global Opportunities Week at UEA — and there was some stuff about “careers using languages”: lots of employers and students were advertising for volunteering opportunities and internships. 

Photo1416

Although I’m only in first year, I’ve had more time than most people to think about career since I’ve gone to university in France for two years before UEA. I’m conscious that English Literature isn’t famous for its numerous job prospects, but what I’d really like to do is to be a translator or have a job that involves some translation. I met a few people there and saw that there are definitely good opportunities, like internships.

I met someone who volunteers for Banana Link: “Banana Link is a not-for-profit co-operative based in Norwich, which works for fair and sustainable banana and pineapple trades. [They] raise awareness of the poor living and working conditions faced by plantation workers and small producers in Latin America, Africa and the Caribbean.”

bananalink-logo-SQUARE-V0_1-JPEG-large.e76b24850bac2fff54ad57a7fa2a490a

They are apparently looking for volunteers who can speak and translate in Spanish and French, which is perfect because I’m French and this is exactly what I’m looking for: work experience for my CV. Moreover, I feel like it would be a good way for me to see (from the inside) the issues faced by those who work in the banana industry in Africa and help a bit, in a way. I’ve applied for the job, we’ll see if they take me! 

One comment on “Global Opportunities Week

  1. Pingback: Volunteering for Banana Link | Anne-Sophie at UEA

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

