Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Essay on Realism: ‘Lolita’ and ‘Pig’

I’m having really fun holidays working essays, woooo! I’ve started with the Literature in History 2 essay: we’ve read nearly ten novels during the semester, and the essay question is basically “Choose one or two novels and discuss their engagement with literary realism“. 

Very early and messy draft.

Very early and messy draft.

Now the tricky part is that they’re not all realist texts, so at first I didn’t really know what to do. But it turns out I’ve come up with what I think is the best essay plan I’ve even written 😛 Let’s hope the entire essay will be as good. I’m slightly worried because my essay plan is much longer that the required word-count.

I’ll work on Nabokov’s Lolita and Cowan’s PigI found Lolita very interesting to study because, as a postmodernist text, it subverts all the conventions of classical realism with irony. In the second part, I’ll argue that although postmodernists viewed realism as a boring and naive form, going back to social realism at the end of the 20th century is possible. However, I’ll stress the fact that this realism has changed and going back to 19th century conventions is impossible.

I’m really glad with my plan now! On the other hand, I’m not really looking forward to working on three more essays that don’t particularly inspire me. 

UEA07032015

Day out in Earlham park a few weeks ago! I miss these guys so much…

Good luck to everyone who’s also working during Easter 🙂

One comment on “Essay on Realism: ‘Lolita’ and ‘Pig’

  1. Pingback: First Blogiversary | Anne-Sophie at UEA

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

