Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Amazing Sights at UEA

One of the first things I heard about UEA was that the campus was really nice and green and that there were many parks in Norwich. I heard a lot about the lake since my boyfriend’s sister had visited UEA and kept talking about it 😛 .

One of the first things I did after arriving at uni was going out for a walk to see the lake. On my way there, I saw the iconic ziggurats!

Photo0647

It may sound silly, but I was walking along the Arts building and ended up there: I didn’t except to find the ziggurats and I was impressed because I’d seen tons of official photographs of UEA and was finally there, for real.

Photo0694

Seen from far away, they look really cool!  It was a beautiful day — I already feel nostalgic about the first weeks at UEA.

Photo0671

Photo0686

2014-09-21-600

Since I live in the village, I get to walk next to Earlham park on my way to the campus every day.

Earlham Park in September…

IMG_3828

IMG_3826

Earlham Park in winter…

Photo1428

Photo1378

Photo1344

On nice days, the view from the Sainsbury Centre is awesome! There is a sort of curtain on the window, which makes the sky look like a painting. Some of the people living in the Norfolk and Sufolk terrace have a similar view. I’m jealous about that.

Photo1458

Same view from outside the Sainsbury Centre. There are several scultures like that around the museum and near the lake.

Photo1456

Other huge sculptures around the campus…

Photo0680

Photo1010

Photo1011

The Sainsbury Centre itself is an awesome place! Entry is free, I recommend that you go check it out at least once.

Photo1455

I love seeing the sunset behind this house on my way back home…

Photo1450

Of course if you adore books, the library is heaven! 😛

Photo0856

This building is Chrome Court, UEA newest accommodation (only for postgraduates). It just looks amazing! 

Photo0700

But to me the most wonderful place at UEA it at the very back of the lower village (where Hawthorn, Willow, and Pine are — the forgotten part of the village). I would never have discovered it if my friends hadn’t told me about it, and I still think tons of students don’t know it exists. There’s even a small river there, River Yare (according to Google Maps). It looks very special when the sun is low or around sunset.

IMG_3840

IMG_3841

IMG_3852

IMG_3850

IMG_3862

Lots of cows and horses and sheep are free to walk around there…

Photo0725

We had to explore a bit to find this place, but as soon as we arrived there me and my friends thought it’d be an amazing spot for sledging in winter. Unfortunately it didn’t snow enough this year…

IMG_3873

IMG_3888

IMG_3885

3 comments on “Amazing Sights at UEA

  1. megalomania29
    3 September, 2015

    Reblogged this on Anne-Sophie at UEA.

    Like

  2. student nurse adventures
    9 April, 2015

    I love this post! Great shots!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

