Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Early Results Day

My first year at UEA is now officially over. I finally got all my essays back: I passed the year with a high 2:1! 😀

Photo2306

Marked essays back!

Easter was kind of a shit holiday for me to be honest because I spent most of my time at home working on the four essays I needed to write. Although I’d started research before the break and worked hard, I was only able to finish partially one or two essays, which meant I still had a lot to do after coming back to UEA. 

Those weeks, practically all I did was typing essays, trying new plans, desperately looking for ideas on JSTOR and in library books. It was hard, but I was so happy when it was all finally done. Such a huge weight was suddenly taken off my shoulders. 

I was very happy with two of my essays — the one on Nabokov’s Lolita and Cowan’s Pig, and the close reading on Morisson’s Beloved — but not so happy about the two others non-literary ones. I wasn’t sure what was expected of me, but I knew that no matter what happened, I had no regrets. I’d done my absolute best. 

Now I got all my results and feel proud of myself.

I got two 71 and one 70, my best grades at UEA so far. And I got these marks on the essays I was least confident about, which was a shock to me. My Gender Trouble essay nearly killed me, and I still somehow got 71! That’s unbelievable, I thought it wasn’t very good. I’m not so happy about my Lolita essay, I got 57 (worth 100% of this module). It’s not even that bad, but it’s just that I was very proud of it and hoped to reach 70 on it. My tutor said he loved my plan and seemed enthusiastic about it so I assumed I’d done very well. 

My pride: 70 in Writing Texts.

My pride: 70 in Writing Texts.

Anyway, enough rambling! I finished my first year and did very well on it. It means a lot as I had no idea whether I’d survive English university when I arrived in Norwich last September. I was often told my English level was great but didn’t know if it’d be good enough to write academic essays and if my ideas would also be great and relevant. 

Now I know I can make it and, although I’m already stressed about my second year of English Literature, I feel more confident and know what my strengths and weaknesses are. 

I have less than a week left at UEA and will need to start packing very soon. It was an incredible year — probably the best year of my life. Yes, it was very hard sometimes, But I met so many awesome people, many great teachers, I learnt so much, and most importantly, I proved to myself that I am able to do so many things and succeed in this amazing university. 

Me enjoying life, now that I'm free from essays.

Me enjoying life, now that I’m free from essays.

2 comments on “Early Results Day

  1. Hey, hun! Congrats on the results!!! Enjoy your summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

