Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Summer Update

Hey guys, sorry I haven’t been very active on my blog these last weeks. 

Things are going well over here although the heat is killing me. Yesterday, we had 35°C in the day and still 29°C at 11pm! Even the wind was hot! I can’t remember the last time I saw rain and clouds (it was probably in Norwich, over a month ago). I know it’ll sound like I’m spoilt, but I genuinely believe that the French Riviera is overrated: it’s so hot you can’t even go out for walks or go to the beach during the day. Everywhere you go is filled with tons of tourists so parking is impossible and the streets are packed. Fortunately for me, I don’t mind spending time at home and know how to keep myself busy. Also, my boyfriend has a swimming pool so it helps haha.

^5281E0F1BEA68832A88E9A45CE25F6335539202A11DDD7266C^pimgpsh_fullsize_distr

Last week, my boyfriend and I recorded the video game cover I talked about here a couple of weeks ago for a charity album (“Multiplayer II”)that should come out in August! I’ve also been busy with the new member of my family: a bass! It’s actually my boyfriend’s first bass but he gave it to me. I wonder what the next instrument I’ll pick up is going to be 😛 . 

 20150728_130103

I’ve been a few times to a tiny beach with my family in Antibes, a nearby town. We had a picnic there and it was much nicer and quieter than in the day. 

WP_20150709_012

Some friends of my parents’ own a small boat so we went at sea all together the other day, near the Lérins Islands. It’s supposed to be really nice over there, so I joined them. It was really fun at the start since they dragged me there on some sort of big rubber ring! It was really fast and awesome, although I was very stiff the next days because of it. The only problem is, I’m very seasick. I ended up spending the day by myself on a bridge because I had vertigo on the boat and felt sick even in the water. These things only happen to me. 

DSCN6259 DSCN6286

In our of my previous articles, I talked about the difficulty of finding a summer job… Well I did find a job in a cafeteria in my town. However I only worked there for four days because I decided to quit. The staff was really nice, they took time to teach and show me how to do stuff etc. I was supposed to work part-time, which was already exhausting due to all the cleaning and heavy lifting I had to do, but when they asked if I could do full-time (from 7am to 3pm) for the rest of the summer I realised that it would be way too much for me. It’s a shame, but I want to be able to relax and enjoy my summer after a stressful year at UEA and to get ready for the next one.

Classy work uniform.

Classy work uniform.

Last weekend, I went to Lyon with my family for my cousin’s wedding! It was nice to gather up after not seeing them for three years and to meet the new baby cousins. 

ursutd

The highlight of the weekend was obviously this amazing chocolate fondue that we had for dessert!

20150725_231330

See you very soon, I hope you’re all enjoying your summer! 🙂

2 comments on “Summer Update

  1. student nurse adventures
    10 August, 2015

    Wonderful to have a vacation! Enjoy your summer too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fred
    28 July, 2015

    Quelle jolie famille 😍♥😎

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

