Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Homesickness?

Feeling happy, comfortable and safe at university is vital. It’ll help you get used to this new environment faster! For the majority of students, it’s going to be their first time away from home, from their family, friends and everything they’ve ever known. Some people will even be away from their country or continent! Which is why you don’t want to feel homesick.

At the start of my first year I worried about homesickness, which is why I’d brought many photographs that reminded me of good times, objects, small figurines and soft toys I liked in order “replicate” my bedroom in a way. Even the bed sheets I bought were the same colour as the ones I have at home. I also realised I’d subconsciously bought the same chopping board and colander as my parents haha.

My mother made these for me. It's inspired by Indochine's Alice & June album cover.

My mother made these for me. It’s inspired by Indochine’s Alice & June album cover.

She also made these cool magnets! It's not food but I want to eat them anyway.

She also made these cool magnets! It’s not food but I want to eat them anyway.

In the end, I didn’t feel homesick but I’m sure that all these small things made a difference and helped to some extent! I’ve even started gathering more things to pack for my second year to make sure I quickly adapt to my new home. So my main advice, especially if you’re a sensitive person is to decorate your room as you like and to bring lots of photographs and things that will make you smile every time you see them! 🙂

Souvenirs from Japan and from my cousin's wedding.

Souvenirs from Japan and from my cousin’s wedding.

Skyping or calling your friends from home and family is also important! Even if you don’t feel the need to do so (which is good), you’ll be happy to hear familiar voices and they (especially your parents) will be reassured! But to me, making close friends is the best way to feel good because you’ll have a lot of fun with them, they’ll support you and they’ll also become like a second family (I don’t care if it sounds cheesy)!

Good luck and remember you’re not alone at uni! Go out, make friends, stay with your flatmates in that kitchen until 3am and have fun! Though if you ever feel down or lonely, go through your photographs and think about the awesome times you’ve had and will have! 

3 comments on “Homesickness?

  1. Summer @ Xingsings
    11 September, 2015

    I actually always lived off campus throughout my years in university, so I never really had the chance to feel homesick. But you’re so right, it’s important to feel comfortable even if it your temporary home. And the magnets look so cool!

    Like

  2. Fred
    6 September, 2015

    …. send a message and photo every Day …. 😍 it’s very important for you And us. ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

