Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Lemon Drizzle Cake

It’s been a while since I wrote about food or cooking. I often make pancakes or crêpes with my housemates but this time I was craving cake, and one of my housemates said “I love lemon cake, I have lemon in the fridge if you want”. I thus decided to explore one of my awesome cookbooks, Sam Stern’s Eat Vegetarian (thank you Jill and Damian!), and found this amazing recipe for Lemon Drizzle Cake. The thing I love in this cookbook, apart from the incredible photos that always make me so hungry, is that the recipes are usually very simple and therefore perfect for students who live on a budget and are too busy studying or going out to the LCR.
20151024_173202

So here’s what you’ll need: 175g/6oz soft butter; 175g/6oz caster sugar; 2 eggs, beaten; 175g/6oz self-raising flour; Grated rind of 1 lemon, 4tbsps milk and 1tbsp lemon juice. For the glaze, which I didn’t do for practical reasons, you’ll need 2-3 tbsps icing sugar; sifted juice of 1 lemon.

It’s me so as usual, I improvised a bit and changed a few things. The amount of butter I used was very approximate (how do you measure butter in a measuring jug when it’s not liquid? Is there a trick?) but I think I was pretty close to 6oz. The cake was really yummy and not too bitter, but I could really taste the butter so next time I might put a bit less in and add milk to compensate. I didn’t have self-raising flour so I just used plain flour: it works very well too, I guess the only difference is that the cake may be a bit flat, but who cares? For the milk… I never know which spoon is a table-spoon. Does that make me an idiot? Maybe. All I know is that the tea-spoon is the tiny one. It’s still cake at the end of the day! I didn’t make glaze because I didn’t have icing sugar but I’ve made icing with caster sugar before and it worked.

What you'll need!

What you’ll need!

Okay, so the first step is to preheat the oven to 160°C and to grease a loaf tin. Then you need to beat butter and sugar in a bowl with a wooden spoon for a couple of minutes until it looks “light and creamy”. At first you might think “What have I done?!” but no worries! Keep mixing!

20151024_180021

Yum.

Dribble eggs in gradually while beating. They say if the mix starts curdling, beat some flour in. 

20151024_180620

Sift flour over the mix and grate rind. Now you need to mix with a large metal spoon using light movements. Add milk and lemon juice (I also added the pulp). If you want the cake to be VERY lemony, you can add a second lemon, or at least half a lemon. It can’t hurt!

20151024_181657

And that’s it! Your mixture should look like the following picture! Bake for 55 minutes or until your knife comes out clean. For the glaze, just mix icing sugar and lemon juice. 

20151024_181319

It was SO YUMMY!  Nothing’s better than having cake and tea 🙂 I’ll have to try out more cake recipes from this book but I don’t know where to start since they all look amazing!

20151024_192833

20151024_195706

One comment on “Lemon Drizzle Cake

  1. Fred
    26 October, 2015

    The table spoon, doit être la cuillère à soupe : faut au moins ça en quantité.
    Et pour le beurre, il faut le faire ramollir à l’avance, le sortir un moment avant du frigo ou qq secondes au micro ondes. Ça ira mieux pour mélanger.
    J’attends donc ton retour pour y gouter ♥🎁😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

