Anne-Sophie at UEA

Three years of my life as an EU student of English Literature at the University of East Anglia,England.

A Weekend in London

I just came back from an amazing weekend in London with my boyfriend and his parents! It was freezing and so windy but I had fun and was glad to see them! 🙂 It’s a shame his sister wasn’t there because we make a crazy trio — but too much craziness might be too bad for our sanity. 

20151122_123259

20151122_120003

On Saturday, we went to the Imperial War Museum. I’d never visited it before and didn’t even know about it. My boyfriend kept telling me that it was great but we thought the entry was quite expensive. It turns out it’s free and the museum is huge, and good for all ages! There are several floors with the main exhibitions and also other galleries for private exhibitions you need to pay for. 

20151121_133616 

We spent a few hours there but didn’t manage to see everything. I was very impressed by the hall because they have these war planes hanging from the ceiling, missiles, jeeps… And also the remains of a car after a bomb explosion. I found it amazing and thought it was a work of modern art at first (I’ve seen similar things at the MAMAC — Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art — in Nice).

20151121_154404

The main hall

20151121_134717

Wrecked car

We started off by exploring the whole World War 1 gallery. I loved it because I don’t remember that much about it from school and it was really well made, with lots of signs showing the different steps of the conflict and explaining why it was a completely new type of war with lots of objects. They had many uniforms from different countries and, as usual, I had to try them on.

12285804_1692901954278543_262686044_n

20151121_142027

War uniforms

One aspect I found particularly interesting was all the propaganda that was made in order to recruit more soldiers. I didn’t really know about that. However, some of the drawings and posters made at the time were really funny and subvert the traditional vision of war being heroic. 

"Daddy, what did YOU do in the Great War?"

“Daddy, what did YOU do in the Great War?”

20151121_144634

“That Sword. How he thought he was going to use it. How he did use it.”

After this, we went to the Holocaust part of the museum. As you can imagine, it wasn’t fun and you have to be over 14 for it. I couldn’t take any photographs.Once again, it’s really well made and explains all the steps of the war, starting with the life of Jewish people in Germany and Poland before the nazis rose to power to the aftermath of the war and the liberation of concentration camps. There are several TVs with interviews of Jews who have survived the holocaust. They were very informative and touching. One of the TVs was playing a short documentary about the history of antisemitism which can be traced back to early Christianism. It’s something you need to see! I highly recommend it! 

There was a smaller gallery about real life spies across history, their gadgets and how reality has inspired fiction. It was pretty cool to see! It made Joshua happy because he’s a big James Bond fan!

20151121_162659

I don’t really know what he was doing.

We stayed there until the museum closed at 6 and decided to head off to Oxford Street to see the Christmas lights and hang around in shops. It turns out the lights are the same ones as last year but it was still nice, even though the street was so packed!

12286119_1692901927611879_1042228123_n

20151121_182954

After this we went to Carluccio’s for dinner and it took us about twenty minutes to find it although it was right next to us… We felt stupid but to be fair, it’s not my fault. I’m terrible with directions and thought I could trust Joshua with it. Apparently I can’t. But after hanging around in the freezing cold we made it! They had a vegetarian menu which was nice! I had pasta with three different types of mushrooms, a really nice sauce made with white wine and the parmesan I almost had to fight for (the waiter was trying to be clever and was saying that if I’m a real vegetarian I can’t eat certain types of cheese because of how they’re made blablabla — I know all this I’ve been vegetarian since I was 14 or 15 and I was craving parmesan). It was really good!

20151121_205700

20151121_202902

An awesome tunnel

We didn’t do much on Sunday but we went to a shopping mall where we got lost within five seconds because it’s ridiculously huge! 

20151122_120003

20151121_132245

It was already time to go back to Norwich and say goodbye in the afternoon. I had an awesome weekend and can’t wait for next weekend because I’ll be in London again for more adventures and, most importantly, it’ll be my birthday! I’ll try to enjoy my last week as a 20 year-old (while working on essays). 

20151122_154906

PS: I found the coolest whirlpool fountain ever. It lights up at night!

20151122_155706

4 comments on “A Weekend in London

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    31 July, 2016

    You and your boyfriend make a very sweet couple! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fred
    2 January, 2016

    Happy Birthday Darling ♥🎁🎂🎈🎉🍻💋

    Like

  3. Fred
    25 November, 2015

    Excellent week end 😉 quelle chance ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

