Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

1st Vlog: English Lit and Modules

Did you ever want to know what studying English Literature is like? Do you consider applying to study at UEA next year? Well this video is for you! 

10 comments on “1st Vlog: English Lit and Modules

  1. Eli Gaydova
    31 August, 2016

    Hey! I will be studying English Literature at UEA this year and I had a few questions about the ‘Reading Translations” module for the first year. I was wondering how fluent you’d have to be in a language (besides English) to take this module? Would you have to be fluent enough in the language to be able to read/understand the text only (even if you’d have to search up a word or two at times), or would you have to have discussions in this language (besides English) as well? Thank you in advance for your help! 🙂

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      31 August, 2016

      Hi! In all the seminars, we were only ever speaking English and essays had to be written in English too. However, you still need to have an excellent level in another language because you’ll be working on poems, you’ll have to find a foreign text to work on (with different translations), etc. However, looking up some words is absolutely fine 🙂 I’m studying English lit but still need a dictionary sometimes haha. Hope this helps, and please don’t hesitate to come back if you have any questions 🙂 It was an excellent module I highly recommend.

      Like

      • Eli Gaydova
        31 August, 2016

        Thank you for your reply! 🙂 As I understand it, if I were to take this module there would never be a need for me to write or speak in a language besides English then, right? I have studied Spanish since grade 6 and studied it within the IB programme at standard level. I’m definitely not on a native speaker level but I’m able to understand Spanish texts with looking up a word or two here and there. Is that type of a level enough to enrol in this module? And are poems the only text type studied or are there others as well? Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions! 🙂

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        1 September, 2016

        It sounds like your level of Spanish is very good, but I’d still say you need to make sure you understand the subtleties of Spanish and can speak the language. You’ll probably need these skills for the presentation (if they still do that) and for your final project/essay. During the seminars, we mostly worked on poems because they’re short. Each week, we usually had a poem (in German, French or Spanish) and we got several different English translations. So basically, we only worked on English texts and compared these versions. However you still need to speak another language well enough for the presentation (you can work on anything!) and essay as I said 🙂

        Like

  2. Ravenclaw Book Club
    29 July, 2016

    Oooh how exciting! I’ll watch this later. 😃

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      29 July, 2016

      I have planned to make another video about second year modules too! But it’s so hard to keep them short.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        29 July, 2016

        I love long videos so I wouldn’t mind! 😃

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        30 July, 2016

        I’ll edit it soon then! I need to try to make more vlogs but speaking on your own in front of a camera can be a bit weird 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        30 July, 2016

        You’re pretty good at it! I tried filming a few bookish videos once and I was terrible, haha. 😀

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        30 July, 2016

        It takes practice!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

