Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Third Year Modules

And again, it’s that time of the year when you have to choose your modules for the next academic year — my final year (I gulp as I write this). The big difference between the second and third year modules is that third year modules are worth 30 credits instead of 20: I’ll only have four modules instead of six. Unfortunately that doesn’t mean I’ll have less work. They expect a much higher level of engagement with each module and a lot of extra research and reading. Essay will be longer too (5,000 words — that’s 2,000 more than in second year). It is very scary but also so exciting!

20160304_190542

I remember looking at my course profile a few months ago and being extremely disappointed by the absence of translation modules and that the range of options is smaller than in second year. However, after having had a closer look at the entire list, all the modules sound amazing (except Shakespeare, I’m traumatized for life). They’re generally more specific and give you the opportunity to study something you’ve done and loved before in more depth, or to study completely new things! Oh and the good news is you don’t have to do a dissertation.

I now have to face the dilemma of choosing my modules and know that I might not get all my first choices… Although I’m stressed about the essays I’ll have to write in the next few weeks and terrified about my third year, I can’t wait to discover new things and learn more. It sounds very nerdy but I’m studying English Literature and paying a fortune for a reason! 

20160228_153736

As part of the pre-1789 requirements… I won’t take Shakespeare. I’m thinking about 18th Century Voyage Literature or The 18th Century Novel, because they’re probably the easiest ones for me and also because I liked 18th Century Writings last semester. 

Apart from that, I’m very interested in the following modules: Queer Literature and Theory; New Worlds: Science Fiction and Beyond; Nervous Narratives; Madness and Medicine; Children’s Literature; and Cultures of Suburbia! They all sound really cool and interesting — I need to choose wisely. So I hope I get most of my first choices. Otherwise I’ll have to cry and beg someone in the hub for a module change. 

Back to my reading now, wish me luck! 🙂 

20160216_094334

13 comments on “Third Year Modules

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    29 July, 2016

    The Queer Literature and Theory module is the main reason I decided to go to UEA. It probably sounds ridiculous because I’m only just starting year 1 this autumn, but when I looked through all the modules for every year and saw that one I got super excited and knew this was my kind of university. 😀

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      29 July, 2016

      That’s not ridiculous at all, I’d applied to Exeter JUST because I saw they did a module on Salinger! I hope you’ll be able to get this module in third year — unfortunately I didn’t but the other ones I got still sound interesting. You might be able to work on LGBTQ literature and theory as part of other modules. I read and studied Gender Trouble in Reading Texts 2 (a compulsory module) in first year for instance, and in “Reading and Writing Translations” in second year (an amazing module I recommend!), I could work on whatever I wanted for my final project so I decided to do an experimental translation of a French novel about LGBTQ issues and that raises big issues in translation! Anyway, it’s hard to explain and I wrote an entire article about it on my blog, haha. All this to say that I hope you like the modules you get and remember that you always have a lot of freedom in your essays, which is pretty cool 🙂 Oh and UEA is really open to LGBTQ groups too so I think you’ll like it even more!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        29 July, 2016

        Aw too bad you didn’t get the module! How does that work, exactly? Is it random who gets certain modules?
        I know, when I read in one of your posts that you’d studied Gender Trouble I got really excited because that’s been on my wishlist for a very long time!
        I saw a post on the UEA Twitter and Facebook about Norwich Pride today, so I feel like it’s definitely gonna be a lovely place. 😊

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        30 July, 2016

        For module choices, say you need to take 6 modules in second year. You’ll have to pick 12 modules overall, you need to have a reserve choice for each one. Then they are given at random, otherwise some people would end up having all of their first choices and others would only have reserve options. It means that you need to think carefully about ALL the modules you pick! Unfortunately, if there’s one module you REALLY want, you can’t let the Hub know. You can still request a change of module at the start of a semester because some people swap but places are very limited.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        30 July, 2016

        Oh, okay. That’s interesting! I guess I’ll have another look at all the modules then and decide what else I might want haha. x

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        30 July, 2016

        There are SO MANY to choose from in second year, it’s crazy! And same in third year, where you can get really specific things or things I never thought I could study. First year’s quite good at showing you very diverse things so you’ll probably discover new areas of interests. Don’t you have to choose two options for first year too?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        30 July, 2016

        Yeah, I just spent a good hour looking through everything, and I wrote down the modules that I want. I’ll probably change my mind at some point but I love planning, even if my third year is very far in the future. 😀
        I think for my first year I would love to do Beginner’s French. It’s so random and not related to literature at all, but I wanted to learn French before going to uni and didn’t get around to it, so that module seems like a good opportunity. If I don’t get that I’d like Makers and Making as an alternative – it’s about art and materials and it’s not really about literature either, but it sounds like a lot of fun. 😃

        I have a question tho. You said you have to choose an alternative for each module, but is it 100% sure that you will get one of the two? Like, if you don’t get your first choice you WILL get the alternative?
        Also in first year you have to choose between reading texts and reading translations, but the latter is only for biligual people. So if you’re bilingual, do you automatically get reading translations or can you still get into reading texts?

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        30 July, 2016

        UEA is pretty good at giving you the opportunity to broaden your knowledge, I love how in first and second year you can study something completely different! And there’s nothing wrong with that 🙂 Too much literature can be a pain in the butt! Beginner’s French sounds cool, a friend of mine did it and I think she liked it! Makers and Making sounds very interesting too — the only thing that puts me off art at uni is the difficulty (another friend of mine studies Art History).
        That’s a very good question! The answer is no. HOWEVER, it is very unlikely you won’t get either choice. In this case, they will put you on a module that’s quite close to your other choices (if possible). It’s happened to me unfortunately and I was put on something I knew I’d absolutely hate and fail. I applied for a change of module asap and I loved the new module so everything turned out okay! But as I said, it’s highly unlikely and there’s always the option to change.
        They never force you to do a particular module so because you’re bilingual doesn’t mean you’ll be forced to do Reading Translations! You’ll be treated like UK students! If I may say, I really recommend Reading Translations, we were only a very small group (like 6 or 7) and apart from me, the other people were Erasmus students. The seminars were cool, there wasn’t too much seminar preparation or work, and we had a lot of freedom regarding the essays (translation with commentary, comparison of translations — usually of poems) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        30 July, 2016

        The difficulty? What do you mean? From what I’ve read, the module seems mostly theoretical. As long as I don’t have to draw or craft something I’m fine, I’m terrible at using my hands. 😂
        Ah, that’s good to know! I’m scared I won’t get any of my favourite modules, since the third-year ones are the main reason I applied to UEA.
        Oh, no haha, I actually want to do Reading Translations, I speak four languages so it seems perfect for me! I was just curious about how it all works. It’s good that you were such a small group, I like that. 😃

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        30 July, 2016

        I mean these modules sound quite hard because they are theoretical!

        Yeah I understand, so fingers crossed! But remember modules might change and you’ll discover tons of other awesome things you’ll love studying 🙂

        Four languages? That’s impressive, which ones?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        30 July, 2016

        Ah, okay haha. I love theory. 😊
        Yep, I love languages! I speak English, German, Italian and Spanish. They all just kind of happened; I was born in Germany and lived there for 12 years, my parents are Italian, and we moved to Spain six years ago. I learned English along the way. 😃

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        30 July, 2016

        This is awesome! I wish I could speak more languages and unfortunately I lost most of my Spanish. French would be a nice addition to your collection of languages 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        30 July, 2016

        Yeah haha, that’s why I wanna learn French! It would sort of complete the European pack. 😂
        It’s a shame you lost your Spanish! But it’s difficult to maintain a language when you don’t use it all the time. I’m quite lucky that I get to speak all four languages pretty much every day.
        There are so many languages in the world that I still wanna learn!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

