Anne-Sophie at UEA

Three years of my life as an EU student of English Literature at the University of East Anglia,England.

The Easter Break

Anne-Sophie — live from France! 

f9769ec8-8502-428b-b1a7-a050a7608d6a_20160313_223222

It is hard to believe that I was in Norwich this morning — it feels like days ago! I had an incredible pre-holiday weekend. It was very relaxing and made me so happy! On Friday evening, my boyfriend and I went to the Waterfront to see Peter Hook & The Light. For those who don’t know him, Peter Hook is the legendary bassist of two bands I love, Joy Division and New Order. He’s currently touring in the UK and playing songs from both his old bands. I had so much fun and the concert was so intimate. They played many of their old classics and everybody danced and sang! I’m so glad I listened to my heart and got tickets for this show as soon as it was announced. I would have been so gutted to miss it. 

20160311_195254

20160311_204255

20160311_215217

This morning, UEA was wonderful. It was so sunny and it felt like spring. As usual, I was a bit sad to leave my house and my friends but, as I was heading to campus to get my coach, it really hit me that I’d finally be with my little brother in a few hours. Many students will know this feels: wherever you are, you always miss the other “home”. I dragged my heavy suitcase (full of books) and started my journey back to France! This time, everything went well and I didn’t get stuck for nine hours on the coach. 

20160313_102147

As the plane approached Nice airport, I could see the lights on the coast of the French Riviera and couldn’t stop smiling. I’d been waiting for this for two months. Some days, I really fancied walking along the beach or going to Nice… And I was finally back. I knew my mother and my brother were waiting for me outside the airport  and, as always, I was welcomed by my brother’s shouts of joy and his hugs which made me so happy. 

20160313_141307

It’s slightly strange to be home and it takes a few days for me to get used to it. Although the semester hasn’t ended (there are still three weeks left after the holidays), now is a good time to look back on the second semester. It’s been very full of work and probably harder than ever, with two novels and a play per week. I have very happy with Contemporary Fiction and European Literature and have amazing seminar leaders and lecturers, which helps, but Shakespeare was a huge and terrible mistake that I’ll regret for a long time. The lecturers are amazing and my seminar leader is awesome, interesting and nice but it’s too hard for me and I don’t understand much. I can’t even read the plays most of the time. The only one I read and understood was Hamlet and I actually liked it (thanks to the BBC adaptation with David Tennant). Unfortunately, it’s not enough and I have no idea how I’ll write an essay for this module.

20160311_112240

The Easter break will be an extremely busy one. I cannot wait for the summer and the annoying sounds of cricket and mosquitoes that mean “Freedom!”. I have so much work to do and need to start writing an essay and think about others. It’s very stressful but at least I am in France! I needed a change of air: I missed all these smells, the sun, the warmth, the colours…

At the same time, I am very excited because the last week of the holidays, my family are coming back to Norwich with me! I’ll finally get the chance to show them “my town”, my campus, my house and what’s been my life for the past year and a half! 😀

Have a wonderful Easter and see you soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

