Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Bye bye UEA!

Bye bye UEA! I am home now 🙂

My second year is really over now and being home feels so good. I’ve been looking forward to this summer all year long. I got two out of three essays back, I got 67 in Contemporary Fiction and 72 in European Literature — two grades I am very proud of! The journey back home was a crazy adventure full of surprised that I feel I need to share with you. I left home on Sunday morning, a bit sad to say bye to my boyfriend after spending an awesome weekend with him, tired and stressed about the long and boring journey but super excited to be home and to see my brother after two months!

20160604_152852

I knew there were strikes in France (surprising, huh?) which may delay my flight but I was confident that everything would go smoothly so I didn’t bother taking a toothbrush or deodorant with me (you’ll see the relevance of this later on). When I got the Stansted after a three hours coach journey, I saw that my evening flight was delayed by 40 minutes — annoying but not too bad. The wait was long and my flight was further delayed later in the afternoon. I waited and waited until, finally, we were given a gate to go to!

I just wanted to be on the plane and see my family waiting for me at the airport! Buuuuuut the wait at the gate was very long and nothing happened. We were supposed to be on the plane, but nobody had come to make us board and there wasn’t even a plane there. Then they decided to make us go to another gate although there was no information about our flight online or at the airport. Nobody could tell us what was going on but I was confident that we’d fly soon. And then… Somebody told us “You can all have a seat” which sounded very ominous. Apparently, it had been delayed for too long so the crew couldn’t fly anymore and they were trying to find another crew. As a sort of compensation, we were given £3 vouchers to buy food or drinks — definitely the highlight of my day!

After a while, around 9pm, our flight was cancelled! I was so annoyed, there was no way I was going back to Norwich, I was exhausted and just wanted to be home. I had no toothbrush, toothpaste or deodorant… But thanks to my parents’ pro tips, I ALWAYS travel with my mobile charger. Thankfully, Easy Jet took care of everything and we were all sent to hotels for free and I was lucky enough to be rescheduled for the first flight to Nice the next day, at 6am! What could have been a nightmare turned out quite well when I was taken to the closest hotel, Radisson! The hotel was amazing and classy, and they prepared a free buffet for all the us (at 11pm).

20160605_224102

I felt like a star or a wealthy businessman for a night and I enjoyed this lifestyle very much, haha! The night was very short as I couldn’t sleep despite being exhausted and had to be at the airport at 4.30am. I don’t even know how my body still functioned but it did. Despite my flight being delayed in the morning, I eventually got home 🙂 

Snapchat-8628082699262499802

I am excited for the summer and our trip to New York is getting closer and closer! I have missed the sun, the smells, the beach…

2 comments on “Bye bye UEA!

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    29 July, 2016

    I would probably be really excited if something like this happened to me! Of course, if you have something important scheduled it would be annoying, but if you’re on vacation it must be so much fun. Sounds so adventurous and improvised, haha. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

