Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

The Kitchen Checklist

20150819_225801

This short post is a bit unusual for my blog but I thought that making a kitchen checklist could be useful! I know that before I moved to UEA, my parents and I didn’t really talk about the kitchen stuff I should buy and since I’d never cooked before, there were lots of things I didn’t think about. I’m not sure what I would have done without my father’s Swiss Knife during the first couple of days! 

I also decided to get second-hand kitchenware at UEA’s Pots and Pans Sale because that was the easiest option for me, coming from France, and also the cheapest one! If you don’t want to invest in good stuff, I really recommend this option — especially if you’re only staying in England for a year or a semester. However, if you have a bit spending money, having a non-stick frying pan will change your life. 

  • Plate
  • Glasses (I mean, you could just use empty Nutella jars)
  • Mugs
  • Cutlery
  • A good knife or a set of cooking knives
  • A peeler
  • Scissors
  • A tin opener
  • A wooden spoon and spatula (FREE ONES IN THE LCR during Freshers’ Week!)
  • One or two frying pans
  • Saucepan and lid
  • Chopping board
  • A baking tray — useful for all sorts of things, including homemade pizza
  • A colander (pasta is a very important part of student life)
  • Tupperware!
  • Cheese grater
  • A garlic crusher (not essential but can be very useful)
  • Oven gloves (…or you can burn your fingers by using a kitchen towel, like me)
  • Kitchen towels
  • A kettle (they should be included in UEA accommodation but they can be really dirty. HOWEVER don’t buy one until everyone’s arrived. In my experience, lots of people bring kettles)
  • A toaster: toasters aren’t provided in halls but you can get super cheap ones for like £8! 
  • Cling film/kitchen foil
  • A microwave rice cooker: best invention ever if you’re terrible at making rice
  • Salt/pepper/herbs/spices

I really don’t recommend bringing kitchenware with you, especially stuff like plates, because it might just break and you can just buy everything at UEA. The first night or first day you can order food or go eat on campus, either in the Union bar, Campus Kitchen, at Ziggy’s or get sandwiches in the campus shop! 

3 comments on “The Kitchen Checklist

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    28 August, 2016

    I’m not gonna bring any kitchen stuff with me, so I hope I’ll find everything at the pots and pans sale! When is that usually? The day uni starts or later? x

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      28 August, 2016

      I am pretty sure it starts when students arrive, or the day after! Follow them on Twitter in case they release a new poster with the dates and times 🙂 You’ll find everything there! Except towels. Just one thing:go early! And also, don’t hesitate to ask for specific things as there’s a back room with more things stored. When I went everything was kinda gross and sticky but don’t let it put you off: you won’t find a better deal anywhere and a good clean will do the job 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        28 August, 2016

        Yeah haha I’m already following them! 😀
        I’ll keep that in mind, thank you. x

        Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

