Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

University and Motivation

Look, I made a new vlog!

It’s an honest talk about a topic I find very important: university and motivation, university and isolation, and the mistakes NOT to make when studying English Literature. I hope you find it useful 🙂

5 comments on “University and Motivation

  1. Hannah Brown // SPW
    18 September, 2016

    I’m just about to start my first year! I’m quite excited, but I hadn’t thought about being lonely… I’m also a little bit worried I won’t be able to be up to the standard of work, especially after a summer off! :S Thanks for this vlog, though, it’s given me lots to think about 🙂

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      19 September, 2016

      Hi! The point of this vlog isn’t to demotivate but to share some advice. I didn’t want to lie and say everything is always easy. As long as you make friends, spend time with them, give yourself space to breathe and relax, I promise you’ll be fine 🙂
      I was also worried about not having a good enough level at the start (and in fact, I still have doubts every day) but the first semester starts slowly. We started by studying a few poems for instance, and in first year I didn’t read many books. It was mostly work based on extracts!
      Good luck at university 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Amberley
    16 September, 2016

    I really agree with this, I study Literature and do often feel quite lonely with spending so much time alone reading. It is really important to think of all the good things that come with Uni when feeling like this 🙂 Best of luck with your third year!

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      16 September, 2016

      Hi! Thanks for commenting. I’m glad to see other people feel like this! It’s a shame people don’t usually open up about these feelings — which are normal. Good luck with your studies to you too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

