Anne-Sophie at UEA

Three years of my life as an EU student of English Literature at the University of East Anglia,England.

UEA Open Day

On the 10th of September, I worked for the Open Day on campus! I’d already done it once last September and, despite being a car park assistant on a rainy day, I’ve kept good memories of that time. I wished I’d done something more interesting but in the end, I had a good time! I’m not going to lie, it’s nice to make a bit of money, but it was also nice to gain some experience and help visitors. 

snapchat-4346507279724731381

As soon as soon as I could apply to work for other Open Days, I did it (last term). During the summer I got an email confirming that I’d be able to work again this time, and that I would be a campus and accommodation tour guide — my preferred position. So I worked from 8am to 2pm and time went by so fast! Although the weather was bad and I got so wet (yay for sheep hair), I really enjoyed giving en-suite accommodation tours, answering questions, and sharing my enthusiasm about UEA!

Well equiped, with my very colourful rain jacket and mic.

Well equipped and classy, with my very colourful rain jacket and mic.

The tours were supposed to last for about 25 minutes but I’m pretty sure mine were much longer than that. Tours departed from outside the Dean of Students’ Office, we went to Britten House and then all the way to Constable Terrace! I like to think I’ve been a decent guide and gave useful tips too, despite it being awkward to speak to a large group with a mic at first. In the end I didn’t give campus tours.

If you haven’t been able to visit UEA yet or if you want to see the campus again, I made a campus tour video! I also made a little Sainsbury Centre tour and an en-suite Village accommodation tour, when I lived there in first year. 

20160910_105928

I hope I can work on more Open Days if there are more during the year. At least, I will work both days for the arrival weekend (something I also did last year). I’ll be in accommodation, helping students find their room, move in and carry their belongings — which is also really fun since I want to remain busy and  like feeling useful! 

20160910_075124

I don’t do Creative Writing but at least they got my name right! The joy!

7 comments on “UEA Open Day

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    26 September, 2016

    I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’ve been here for a couple days now and it’s amazing!

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      26 September, 2016

      Aww I’m glad to hear from you, that’s awesome! 😀 I hope you have a cool flatmate and nice flatmates. I was working during Arrival Weekend and it felt so weird. Make the most of first year! We all miss that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

