Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

I’m a Student Ambassador!

I am a student Ambassador for UEA!  😀

Me and the best rain jacket ever at the last Open Day

Me and the best rain jacket ever freezing at the last Open Day

I was starting to lose hope and thought I’d failed the interview but it turns out my mobile was being stupid and didn’t receive the email. Anyway, when I finally saw it today during my seminar I wanted to shout “OH MY GOD” but managed to keep quiet and focus on surrealism in Ballard’s The Unlimited Dream Company.

If I remember correctly, I’d apply for that Student Ambassador Scheme or for a job as a French Ambassador back at the very beginning of first year but didn’t make it for obvious reasons. I must have missed the adverts for these roles last year but it’s fine, it’s never too late! 

So I am very happy that I’ve been accepted on the Student Ambassador Scheme and I am excited to work for the university and represent it even more than I already do (through this blog and through my work as a Student Guide). The next step is training, which happens next week, and a DBS check. Once I’m fully trained, I’ll be able to work pretty much whenever I can or want and when there’s a role that interests me. Work can be very diverse and range from administrative tasks to working with children. The only thing they really ask for is that we work for a 24 hours total per year. I think I’ll love it and it’ll be a nice addition to my CV — which is starting to be very full! 

20160910_075124

As part of the application process, I first had to send a written application with answers to a few questions which were mostly about why we want to represent the university, etc. I got through this stage and was then invited for an interview for which I had to prepare a short presentation. We were asked to imagine we were giving it to a group of year 9 children, and that it could be about anything as long as it engages them. I talked about “the importance and benefits of learning languages” because it’s a topic that obviously means a lot to me and that I think is important to talk about since it promotes education, open-mindedness… After this presentation, I was asked a few questions and I’m so glad I made it! 🙂 Now all I need is a degree and an actual job for next year and things will be perfect (no pressure).

A guy I met recently (while working at an Open Day!) who’s already an Ambassador kinda coached me so I need to thank him! He kept saying I’d almost definitely get the job since I’m already a blogger and a guide so I felt super confident and I’m glad neither of us were wrong about it. 

15101978_828830610592383_552626610_o

Below, I have included the presentation I prepared in bullet-point shape if you’re curious. It wasn’t a big deal, just a way for them to see how we spoke in front of an (imaginary) audience I guess, but I liked preparing it and thinking about this topic. 

Part 1: Myth

  • Common myth we hear or say: “I speak English so I don’t need to learn foreign languages”. English global language. True to some extent, you can speak English in many countries around the world.
  • However, only under 6% of world’s population speaks English as first language.
  • Figures depend on source but estimated that:
    • 1st Chinese/Mandarin: over 1 billion
    • 2nd Spanish: 400 million
    • 3rd English: 360 million native; half billion as second language
  • These figures shouldn’t impact decision to learn language or which language you should learn.

Part 2: Why learn foreign language then?

A different language is a different vision of life.” – Federico Fellini, Italian film director

  • My personal experience: if I hadn’t been pushed at school to learn two foreign languages, I wouldn’t be here right now. Opportunity to study and live abroad, discover new culture, new people, other literature…
  • Discover passion: literature, translation, cinema, culture studies, history, humour, grammar, phonetics, music…
  • Reflection upon your own language and culture

Part 3: Benefits

  • Broadening horizons: open-minded + tolerant, open to world and other cultures.
  • If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart. (Nelson Mandela)
  • Opportunities: personal, professional, university, social, economic. Advantage with globalisation!
  • Convenient for traveling
  • Studies show link learning languages/enhanced cognitive skills à helps you reason, solve problem, think, etc.

Part 3: Fun/efficient ways to learn

  • Songs/music
  • Learning instrument
  • Youtube
  • Internet friends/bilingual friend from school

Conclusion

  • Impressive achievement and self-confidence
  • Useful on personal or professional level
  • Remember that learning language should be and IS FUN!
snapchat-4346507279724731381

Oh look! It’s me again! At the September Open Day.

3 comments on “I’m a Student Ambassador!

  1. Fred
    12 November, 2016

    CONGRATULATIONS

    Like

  2. Ravenclaw Book Club
    11 November, 2016

    Yay congrats! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

