Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

I Am 22!

Another year has passed!

Another birthday celebrated in England, too. I arrived in Norwich just before I turned 20, and it feels like this was many years ago. I can’t believe I am already 22 (trying not to feel too old) and yet can’t believe I am only 22 (grumpy old me speaking now). It seems to me that a world and a million experiences have happened since I moved to England, or even since I finished secondary school. It’s really hit me that I’m not a 16-year old teenage girl anymore and I’m a “woman” (I hate saying this) in my twenties. Teenagers years can be very weird and scary but being in your twenties is probably worse to a degree: you are really responsible for your actions, your parents aren’t always behind you, you really need to become independent and accept the fact that you’re an adult who needs to graduate, find a job, a home…

I had a really cool birthday though and feel so grateful for all the people who made it special! For obvious reasons I couldn’t be with my family but I’m getting used to it now. My birthday was on a Tuesday this year which meant I couldn’t be with my boyfriend but we spent the previous weekend in London! Despite me not being in a Christmas mood, we went to Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park and I had so much fun. I’m terrified of roller coasters and stuff but we went onto a ride and I kept screaming/laughing like an idiot. I really thought I was going to be thrown out of my seat. It was hilarious though and one of my best memories ever with my boyfriend πŸ˜› In the evening, we went to the restaurant with him and his parents, it was really nice!

15218295_1845692512332819_1199975388_n

Joshua and I in Green Park

15208995_834056343403143_540798934_n

15209048_834056406736470_533279081_n

15271179_834056463403131_921057096_o

On my actual birthday, I allowed myself what’s now become rare: a day of rest, with no university work. Although I am incredibly stressed about university, essays and jobs at the moment, I managed not to think about all this or to feel bad for not working. I went to Great Yarmouth with a friend which was really fun! I know Great Yarmouth isn’t the most glamorous place in the world and it doesn’t compare to the South of France but I’d been wanting to go to the beach for a while. It was really empty but also so peacefulΒ and sunny! πŸ™‚ And what’s this thing about having arcades everywhere?! Β And then I celebrated with cake, wine and TV with my housemates — the perfect way to spend an evening for me. I got really cool presents and Skyped my family for a while too, which hadn’t happened in a while. So I’m happy πŸ™‚ It felt good to allow myself this one day of calm before the storm.

img_9122

img_9147

img_9170

img_9128

img_9195

Yes, I am the type of person who takes lots of sunset photos.

It hit me that next year, I won’t be celebrating my birthday at UEA which feels so weird. Within a couple of weeks of arriving at UEA, UEA became my life, my home, my family, my new country. I feel good here. I’m not a big fan of celebrations but for my 22nd birthday I want to remember how much I have achieved and how far I got because the past couple of years at uni have been very challenging, but equally rewarding.

Let’s make the next 22 years as memorable! πŸ˜› (oh no I’ll be 44 in 22 years… Maths skills!)

ewtwe

Skyping my family!

8 comments on “I Am 22!

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    4 December, 2016

    I’m glad you had such a good birthday! And a friend and I are going to Cromer soon, so I’ll be taking pictures of the beach as well. 😝

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      4 December, 2016

      Thank you! That’s awesome, I’d love to see them. Still haven’t been to Cromer but I’ll try to plan more day trips next semester with my friends.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        4 December, 2016

        Sounds like a good plan haha! I haven’t blogged in an eternity (shame on me) but I’ll see if I can post something about the trip. πŸ˜ƒ

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        4 December, 2016

        I look forward to read new posts when you have time! You going home during the holidays?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        4 December, 2016

        Yes, I am! Back to Spain for a while! 😊

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        4 December, 2016

        Niiiiice have a great time there! πŸ™‚ I was gonna say Merry Christmas in Spanish but completely forgot how to say it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        4 December, 2016

        Thank you! That would be feliz navidad haha. πŸ˜„

        Like

      • Anne-Sophie
        4 December, 2016

        Oh! That’s almost what I thought!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

