Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

New Year Resolutions

Bonne année! Bonne santé!

Last time I had New Year resolutions, it was around the age of 13 and it was to stop biting my nails (it worked!!). Although I usually dislike the idea, I started this last academic year with a few resolutions or goals that I only managed to follow for a few weeks and never released the article I’d planned about that… Perhaps writing them down somewhere now will make them easier to respect and remember. 

2016 has been an… interesting year. 2017 will probably be even crazier — geo-politically speaking but also on a personal level. So here are my hopes and resolutions.2016-meme

Hopes

  • Finding a job. That would be nice, if it’s not too much to ask for. 
  • Getting my degree. Another pretty big thing that’s going to make 2017 memorable! 
  • No disaster in the presidential elections in France (lol).
  • Peace and love in the world (as if).

Resolutions

  • Play guitar every day. Even if it’s just for 15 minutes. This was one of my big resolutions for this academic year, something that means a lot to me and that I know helps me remain sane and happy. That didn’t happen, but I blame it on the weather: cold temperatures turned my “music room” (the conservatory) into an igloo from mid-October. I’ll actually blame it on my first essay that was due right in the middle of the semester and changed my whole work/life balance. Okay, these are terrible excuses and I’ll make an effort.
  • Have fun. If you know me, you’ll probably know that as long as there is (university) work, I always work. I try to work as soon as I’m ready in the morning, I work until I’m almost falling asleep, I work while eating, I sometimes even try to work while cooking (totally counter-productive), I work when I’m ill, I work when I have fever, I work on the train and coach although I get travel sick, I work every single day, I cancel plans to work more… In short, I find it super hard to ever relax and it’s horrible. I really need to keep making sure I make time to have fun, go out, do different things… To be fair I’ve been much better with all this the past semester and I’ve accepted a long time ago that if I don’t do all the work every single week, it’s fine. It’s not going to kill me (the contrary will).
  • Draw and read books for leisure. Haaaaave fuuuuuuuuuuun Anne-Sophie! I used to draw and paint a lot while listening to music before starting university at UEA, and that always made me feel so relaxed. I even got a colouring book with the best intentions a few months ago but never touched it. And despite spending my life reading things for university, reading a little bit for leisure sometimes will help me remember how much I love books.
  • Go swimming. Sometimes… 
  • Remember that #YOLO.

 

img_7968

I’m going to leave this photograph here because it makes me smile 🙂

 

PS: Anne-Sophie of the future, if you read this and haven’t found a job yet, or haven’t found something amazing and don’t know what you’re doing with your life, it’s not the end of the world.

5 comments on “New Year Resolutions

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    2 January, 2017

    I should stop biting my nails too. 😅😅
    And I hope your resolutions work out! I want to start doing stuff for the Concrete society and do some volunteering this year, and of course pass year 1. 😀

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      2 January, 2017

      Where there’s a will, there’s a way! 😀
      These are both great ideas, you should definitely do it! Do you know where you’d like to volunteer yet?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

