Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

New Books!

20170102_175035

What do literature students get for Christmas? BOOOOOOOOOKS!!! I asked for quite a few and got even more than I thought I would. Let’s be real, I’ll never have time to read all this before the end of the holidays but one day, I will get through all this. Some of those I actually got last Christmas but didn’t feel like reading last summer. 

20170102_175056

The Myth of Sisyphus, by Albert Camus! I actually read parts of it (in English, borrowed from the UEA library) last year for one of my essays for the European Literature module. I really enjoyed the idea and I’m still interested in philosophy, especially existentialism and the absurd. I wanted to have my own copy to read it slowly, make notes, highlight, and go back to it whenever I want! From what I remember, I really recommend it.

20170102_175126

My boyfriend got me this books that sounds awesome: Chance, by the New Scientist! This is another popular science book — he already got me a few! I love those. This one is different though because it focuses on… chance! And the randomness of things. I’m excited to read it. 

20170102_175106

Another book offered by my boyfriend: I Call Myself A Feminist. I’m more and more interested in feminism so this should be a good introduction for me and an entertaining read.

20170102_175136

This one’s a very serious book: Jean-Luc Mélenchon’s manifesto “L’Avenir en Commun” (the future, together) for his campaign in the French 2017 presidential election! This man is incredibly charismatic, intelligent, and also kinda funny, and I support a lot of the things he says so I thought the best thing to do before voting (at the end of April) would be to actually read everything he has to say. 

20170102_175146

This is a very intense but amazing non-fiction book you read in one sitting. Hello Me It’s You is a series of anonymous letters written by young adult to their younger selves. I really enjoyed it 🙂 

20170102_175157

Happy! Derren Brown! When I went to see his show “Miracle” in London last January, an usher I spoke to told me Derren was working on a book about happiness. I was so excited. I started reading it and so far, it’s great: it is a discussion about happiness in history, different philosophers and what they wrote about it and also a criticism of the self-help book industry and of some techniques used in therapies. I cannot wait to read more of it.

20170102_175218

One of the modules I really wish I’d done at university was called “Words and Images” and it was about graphic novels! Anyway, The Arrival is one of the books they studied and since someone mentioned it in the literature society meeting, I wanted to get it. What caught my interest is that fact that it doesn’t have any dialogue or words. It’s just images! After three pages, I was really into the story and already moved by it… I adored it, the drawings, the topic (immigration) and the whole symbolism. I’m looking for more graphic novels so if you have any recommendations…

20170102_175251

Not a book I expected to get but my mother heard about it on a TV show. Au Bonheur des Lettres is a thick series of letters from different famous people (all translated in French). There’s stuff like a letter from Gandhi to Hitler, Virginia Woolf’s incredibly moving suicide letter… With scans of the original letters. Should be another interesting read! 

20170102_175240

Meta Maus! I adored the graphic novel Maus by Art Spiegelman despite it being tough to read. Meta Maus is a kind of making of Maus. 

20170102_175116

I literally only got Satin Island because I read and adored Remainder by this author. The cover was cool so I thought: why not? 

20170102_175208

Le Voleur de brosses à dent was written by a French journalist. It is a sort of autobiography about her struggle to get her son diagnosed with autism in France and the difficulties encountered to get treatment for him, etc. I doubt it’s been translated in English so me putting this here isn’t very relevant but who knows, there might be other French speakers out there! 

2 comments on “New Books!

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    11 January, 2017

    Ohhh I really wanna read I call myself a Feminist and The Arrival!
    I think it’s great that you want to read a politician’s thoughts before voting! Very smart.
    I’ve heard very mixed things about Satin Island, so I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anne-Sophie
      11 January, 2017

      The Arrival was A-MA-ZING!
      Yes, I think too many people vote without really thinking about things and digging deeper…
      Oh okay, well I hope I like it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

