Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Nobody gets my name in the UK

I never realised that making people understand my first name would be such a problem in the UK. I believed that, like in France, my Polish surname would be the most challenging thing because I always need to spell it to people, say that it starts with a K not a C, etc… And that’s is fine…

But when it comes to my first name, I’ve had EVERYTHING — even as replies to emails where I’ve signed my name clearly. I’ve been called Ann, Anne, Anna, Anna-Sophie, Anna-Sophia, Sophie, even Anna-Maria once (!). But the worst is when I first introduce myself to people (orally). I thought I could speak English clearly enough but apparently I don’t. People always only hear “Sophie”, even when I correct them and repeat for the second time “No, it’s Anne-Sophie”, insisting on the “Anne”. I usually give up after the second time and let people call me whatever they want because I already feel embarrassed  enough with my super old-fashioned name.

In first year, I let a seminar leader call me Sophie all semester long and when he finally realised it wasn’t my real name the last week, he seemed so pissed off haha. 

So… It’s “Anne-Sophie” : you do have to say both names and don’t forget the hyphen. 🙂

Oh, the struggles of international students.

4 comments on “Nobody gets my name in the UK

  1. student nurse adventures
    25 March, 2017

    Do you have a middle name as well? Because I know some people in the UK have two first names just like you, occasionally followed by a middle name, and a family name. Saying both first names is considered quite posh here, hence people roll with their preferred name only. For example, Catherine Elizabeth Middleton AKA Kate Middleton, or William Arthur Philip Louis AKA William. 🙂 If I were you, I’d go with either Anne or Sophie. Like my Bulgarian name is too difficult to pronounce, hence I just introduce myself with the English equivalent. It was a bit weird to introduce myself like that at first, however, now it has become part of my identity even though it’s not on my passport at all.

    Like

  2. Ravenclaw Book Club
    23 March, 2017

    I’m still so confused about this. Your name is so easy. I mean, mine is Yaiza, and somehow everyone so far has got it right, so I don’t know what the problem with yours is. 😂

    Like

  3. Fred♥
    22 March, 2017

    Ton prénom te correspond … et nous l’avons choisi ♥ , tu veux changer ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

