Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Busy weekend in London

I am finally back home after a semester (that’s not quite over yet) that went incredibly quickly. I have had such a good semester so far though! 😀 I’ve enjoyed my reading and modules – especially Science Fiction – so much, I was always on top of my work and had finished all my compulsory reading for the semester during Reading Week, I volunteered a few times and liked it, I worked on the Applicant Day Callback Scheme with the Admissions Team and had a lot of fun, I felt much more relaxed in general, I kinda stopped worrying all the time about jobs and my future… In a nutshell, I had a great time! That’s all I wanted for my final year and final semester of uni!

Nice, yesterday

I have a month off in France now, and after I get back to university, I only have three weeks of class (but it won’t really be normal class) and essay writing and it’ll all be over. It’s crazy… I feel like I first moved to Norwich only a few weeks ago… I can’t stop thinking about all the things that have happened these past three years, but I’ll keep my thoughts for another post. 

The weekend before I flew back home was A-MA-ZING! My boyfriend and I had planned it all back in January. We spent three days in London and did so much stuff! And I was happy to be reunited with  him. It felt good to be away from Norwich and also do and see so much (that doesn’t involve books).

So on Saturday, we finally went to an exhibition at the Science Museum that I was incredibly excited about… ROBOTS! 500 years of history about robots! As predicted, it was amazing. (Yes I am such a geek now.) I got really into robots and that kind of stuff recently because of my Science Fiction module and also because I’m going to write my essay on robot, androids, etc, so I thought it could be useful. I strongly recommend it if you have an hour to spare in London and want to feel like a grumpy elderly person who rejects technology. My favourite thing about the exhibition was seeing all the super new robots that react to their surroundings or that look creepy and human. I also really liked the fact that they started with things from the 1500s and 1600s such as mechanical clocks and other things used for religious purposes.

The exhibition isn’t free unfortunately… but! Students pay a bit less (about £12) and if you can go on Friday evening, it’s even cheaper (about £7). In any case, it’s worth it and not something you’ll get so see everywhere.

On Saturday evening, we went to see a play! I got Joshua and I tickets for “The Play that Goes Wrong” for his birthday. I’m not a big theatre fan but it was so funny! So funny that my jaw hurt so much at the end from laughing and smiling so much. The theatre was quite small too which was cool! If you can see this play or other plays by this company (I watched the tv adaptation of “Peter Pan Goes Wrong”), go for it!

Sunday was also very busy and exhausting. We finally managed to go to the Warner Bros. Studio to see the making of Harry Potter! My parents had got both of us tickets for our birthdays a while ago but we never managed to do the previous times we went to London. I was really surprised by the amount of stuff they have there and how well the whole thing is made and laid out! I’m also glad there was so much stuff explaining how the films were made and giving out a few “secrets”. Tickets for it are not cheap at all but if you love the films and grew up watching them, you’ll love it.

Monday was a quieter day (I did some reading, like a good student) but also a super super super excited one because…. We went to see DERREN BROWN! YES! Joshua had got us tickets as birthday and Christmas presents for me.  I saw him a year ago in London on my own for his amazing show “Miracle”. This time was very different though because his new show “Secret” is actually a kind of best of show that he’ll take to the USA soon. It was the first time my boyfriend saw him and I’m glad I converted him to the amazing Derren Brown – probably the best discovery I have made since I started university. If you don’t know him, look him up on 4OD right now and what are you doing with your life? I remembered most of the tricks but they are all still impressive and the venue was so small and cool. Derren walked in the crowd super close to us at one point and that was very weird… I tried to be taken on stage but it didn’t work… Maybe next time, haha!

17690303_906980329444077_1658949452_n

And on Tuesday we flew back home with his sister, which was quite fun and less lonely than it usually is because I almost always travel on my own.

I have a lot of things planned during the holidays (which involves spending a lot of time playing videos games and watching The Walking Dead with my brother) and will go away for a few days to visit family and go to my cousin’s graduation ceremony from military school but I also need to think about essays. I really want to (and probably also need to?) have a good draft for my Science Fiction essay before going back to UEA. I will talk about it in a near-future. I have three weeks and a half to do that which would be enough in Norwich but I find working really tough at home.

I hope you all have a fantastic Easter holiday wherever you are, and good luck to everyone who’s already stressing about exams and essays!

Nice, view from my grandmother’s balcony.

Adios!

3 comments on “Busy weekend in London

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    30 March, 2017

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the semester so much! I’m kinda behind on everything right now, but I still have the Easter break to catch up! 😀
    The robot exhibition sounds really fun! I’m so jealous that you got to go to the Warner Bros. Studios, I don’t know when I will be able to. 😩
    I definitely know what you mean about working being more difficult at home. Everything is so relaxed and uni feels far away …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anne-Sophie
      30 March, 2017

      Good luck catching up, you can do it!! I hope you manage to go one day because it’s super cool 🙂
      Yeah exactly, home should only be for proper rest. I don’t know about you but it’s really warm and sunny over here, it just makes me want to spend my days on the beach or walking out!
      Have a good time despite work!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

