Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Easter Holidays in France

The Easter holiday is already over which feels really strange because, for the first time, I have no idea when I’ll next go home in France or if I’ll even be able to go during the summer, or next Christmas…

I wish I’d managed to do more work but I tried not to think about it too much, not stress too much make the most of my time home with my brother, my boyfriend, and also visiting family. I wanted to make the most of the sunshine and warm beautiful weather which was mostly amazing and that made me feel so happy! I love this season so much.

To be fair though I wrote my first full draft of my Science Fiction essay (and it’s 3500 words over the word limit — I want to cry). 

The holidays started with an awesome weekend in London as I said in a previous post. I went to my favourite nearby seaside cities, Nice, Antibes and Juan les Pins, a few times.

And I can’t say how much I’d missed my brother! That’s the problem when you live abroad… I keep telling my parents that he can come and live with me in England, that he’ll make new friends and become bilingual quickly but so far my efforts have been unsuccessful.

Feeling ridiculously short. 

One of the main events of the holiday was my and my boyfriend’s 6th anniversary! 6 years! I can’t believe it, it’s gone so fast. We had a lovely evening in Juan les Pins, had dinner at the restaurant and then walked along the sea after sunset which was lovely! 🙂 The craziest thing is realising how young we were when we met (14 and 15) and how much has happened since then. I remember the days we played guitar and bass together in my room in my parents’ flat, when we met up after college and walked in the park, when we went to university in Nice together… I’m starting to feel slightly old 😛 . 

I managed to see my great friend Clément too which made me super happy! I’ve known him for over 7 years now, which is crazy. He’s now studying fashion in Brussels but so far we always manage to see each other when we got back to France! He’ll be happy to see I’ve posted a picture of him and his interesting shoe situation. 😛 Don’t worry, he does wear very fancy things… sometimes. 

I’d also planned to go away for a few days with my family for a while to go to my cousin’s graduation ceremony from Gendarmerie school (the gendarmerie is one of the two national police forces, they are part of the army and are an armed force). It was interesting to go because my parents also went to that Gendarmerie school, in Montluçon, nearly 30 years ago. It was cool to finally see the place I’d heard about from my parents — even though after those four days I’d heard the same stories about fifty times. The place was nothing like I imagined! We met up with other family members there for the occasion which was nice – otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to see them in a very long time.

The school gate

A medieval castle in Montluçon.

The ceremony was nice and interesting, stressing the Gendarmerie’s history and traditions, with lots of songs and some speeches. 

It was weird seeing everyone dressed up like that — it was like seeing my parents everywhere (because they wear the same ceremony uniform sometimes).

In the evening, we all went to have dinner in a castle! I even managed to get a vegetarian dinner :’) . The joy was too real. 

Another castle.

Another photograph in which I look tiny.

My “little” cousin and I. Still hoping to grow up one day.

Since Montluçon is so far from the South of France (it’s almost literally in the middle of France), we stopped in Lyon, at my aunt’s, on our way there and back – so it was nice to see this side of the family and my little cousins too… Despite the work I knew I should have been doing. 

Another big event of the holidays is the French presidential election — or at least the last month of the campaign and first round on the 23rd of March. I won’t say any more about it here because I wrote about it in my previous article (you can read it here) and will probably write more about it soon. Not that I’m a good political critic or anything but I just want to record my thoughts and feelings.

But if there is one thing I want to remember from the Easter break, it is… The Walking Dead! My brother pretty much forced me to start watching it with him because he was too scared and I ended up being completely addicted to it. I loved the video games but thought that films or series about zombies would be shit and dumb… and I was so wrong! I’ll have to find time to continue working on essays while I try to catch up on all the seasons. Or maybe work on essays first and then watch The Walking Dead to forget about political disasters and fill the void in my life when I’m not a literature student anymore. We’ll see 😛 .

I’m sad to leave home, as usual, and I know that getting used to being in England and speaking English will take a few days but I had a good time home and that’s all that matters 🙂 #YOLO.

Deep inside, I’m a bit terrified of what will come next but try to keep it together. I’m not only worried about finishing both my projects (and hopefully getting a 2:1 on them) but also because I have no ideas what I will do after university, when I’ll be able to go home and see my family, if I’ll manage to find an internship or job quickly, I don’t know where I’ll live and who I’ll live with, don’t know how I’ll manage to move anywhere without a car or my parents helping me, worrying about ending up all alone in Norwich with nothing to do and everyone I know having gone home… 

For now my focus is working on my projects. I spent last semester looking for graduate schemes and ended up having no life and staying awake at night because I was too stressed about all this. That’s why this semester I decided to just focus on university and trying to relax so I don’t ruin my last months at UEA. Once my projects will be submitted, I will be looking for work and sending applications full-time — I hope it won’t be too late. I guess all I can do is stay positive and take whatever comes my way! At the same time I’m quite excited to start a new chapter of my life 🙂 

Worst case scenario, I have a never-ending list of books to read 😛

3 comments on “Easter Holidays in France

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    23 April, 2017

    Didn’t you already post this a while ago? Kinda confused rn 😅

    Like

    • Anne-Sophie
      23 April, 2017

      I published a draft of this by mistake and took it down almost immediately haha. I’m so dumb 😂😂 I was hoping nobody have realised.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

