Anne-Sophie at UEA

Three years of my life as an EU student of English Literature at the University of East Anglia,England.

UEA: The End

MY DEGREE IS OFFICIALLY OVER! 🎉🎉🎉

I haven’t been able to write more this month because of how busy I have been since I came back to UEA after Easter. My Science Fiction essay, which I’d written during the break, needed a lot of editing and I had more research and all the writing to do for Travel Literature. Each day, I dreaded the next, aware that each second brought me closer to the end of my degree in English Literature which I loved so much, despite many many difficult moments, complaints, struggles, and endless stress. This final semester has been absolutely amazing though which fills me with happiness! …But suddenly, it’s over.

I’m writing this with a mix of joy, sadness and pride. These past three years at UEA have been equally amazing and stressful (understatement). Three years ago, I embarked on an incredible adventure in England, dragging a suitcase and my guitar in Heathrow Airport, trying to find the UEA people and the bus that was going to take me to Norwich. I had no idea where I was going, no idea what to expect, no idea how life abroad and far from my family would be, and no idea whether I’d be good enough to study English Literature in the UK.

Leaving for the first time. I was so excited and had no idea what I was doing!

Months and semesters went by, people came and went and, one book after the other, one essay after the other, here I am — having submitted my last essay ever! My journey in England is far from over, but the UEA era is.

I cannot say how much I have learnt here and how much literature has done for me. I also had the opportunity to do so many things that would never have happened otherwise: study for an amazing degree, get a lot of work experience as a student guide and Ambassador, volunteer for the Wellbeing Service and Banana Link, see Queen Elizabeth II, meet Clive Lewis, be invited to the openings of new exhibitions at the Sainsbury Centre, become a student blogger for UEA, go to London so often, become addicted to tea and even learn how to cook (if you go back to my first posts you’ll see the catastrophe that I was)!

UEA had become my home, the long corridor in the Arts building my refuge, the library my sanctuary, all the amazing people and professors I met my family. I can’t say how much I will miss UEA, the atmosphere, the feeling I had whenever I arrived on campus, the lectures and the seminars (except the Shakespeare ones, let’s not be too crazy)… And above all, the honour to be part of it all!

The smell of books and of the library…

I’ll never forget finishing my Mary Barton essay listening to Mozart’s Requiem, putting on ‘Hey Jane’ every single morning at the end of first year when I wrote my Gender Trouble piece, ‘Shellshock’ and ‘Love Vigilantes’ by New Order for Modernism, listening tirelessly to the ‘Ride of the Valkyries’ to motivate me work on my Shakespeare essay when I was at the end of my rope, playing ‘Silently’ and the album 23 by Blonde Redhead all the time in the library while desperately trying to find ideas for my Cultures of Suburbia project, listening to Barry White’s ‘You’re the first the last my everything’ on the floor of my room thinking about Nervous Narratives and being very nervous about all my job applications myself, and spending my final semester of university listening to Moby and Air (especially the soundtrack of The Virgin Suicides) and Future Funk (an amazing genre) in my little corner of the library, third floor, always the same red armchair, reading amazing Science Fiction novels. 

I will cherish those memories and hope that they will always bring a smile on my face, although I already miss it all terribly. 

I’d rehearsed this post many times over the past weeks, in my head, thinking “How can I going to say bye to three very special years of my life?” It was going to be a very different post, filled with despair and sadness, had I not received some amazing news recently! More about it in another article. 😀

For now I need to thank the ones who supported me and those who believed in me more than I believe in myself. I also need to thank my parents who made it all possible! ❤

I made it to the end, and I am so proud! *bows*

I write motivational messages to myself in my diary.

Now I can go read a book I actually want to read :’) The joy is too real!

8 comments on “UEA: The End

  1. Amberley
    21 May, 2017

    Congratulations! 🙂 😀

    Like

  2. Katie
    20 May, 2017

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ravenclaw Book Club
    19 May, 2017

    Just not the Shakespeare lectures 😂😂😂 Same!
    I’m really excited to see what you will write about now that your time at UEA is over. Looking forward to more of your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anne-Sophie
      20 May, 2017

      Hahah yeah, it’s like the one thing from uni I won’t miss at all. Thanks for always reading my blog! 😀 I have so many articles planned, I think I need to sit and spend like 2 or 3 days writing all of them!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Fred
    19 May, 2017

    Excellente expérience, formatrice, dans un univers magnifique : merci UEA ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

