Anne-Sophie at UEA

Three years of my life as an EU student of English Literature at the University of East Anglia,England.

FLY Festival Traineeship

More exciting news: I’m a trainee for the FLY festival!

The FLY festival is a festival of literature for young people organised by UEA and taking place in Norwich in July. This year is the festival’s 5th year!

As with both my other internships, this traineeship was advertised through the UEA Career Central. It isn’t paid but it gives me the opportunity to meet people, gain experience in journalism, communication, marketing and social media! My CV is getting very full now.

All the work done by myself and by the other trainee is done independently so the number of hours we work depends on the amount of time it takes us to complete each task. I like having so much independence and doing pretty much what I want!

I have only started a couple of weeks ago but so far it’s been really fun to be able to see the work done “behind to scene” to ensure that the festival will run smoothly and, most importantly, that people will come and that the festival’s reputation will be strengthened! Moreover, organising a literature festival for young people is a fantastic and admirable thing to do. Promoting literature, drama and art is so important for young people and to show them all the things they can achieve and how far their passion can take them. I know that back when I was a teenager this was the kind of event I would have loved to attend to be reminded that my love for reading and literature wasn’t useless and that it could actually lead to great things.

Busy working with Louise.

Even now, I wish I were younger so I could go to the festival! So many amazing talks and events have been planned and all the workshops sound terrific! Debs Newbold’s adaptation/re-telling of King Lear sounds great, James McDermott’s play Rubber Ring seems amazing, I’d love to see BREIS (who I have just discovered)… There really is something for everyone, from drama events, plays and storytelling to workshops on graphic novels, poetry on Twitter, how to find inspiration to write, writing about trees, a slam contest…

In a nutshell, the festival will be an amazing week for all the participants!

So far, Louise, the other trainee, and I have worked on various things: a pitch about why we want to use Instagram and Snapchat, an article about drama in relation to the festival which will hopefully be published in the press or allow us to go on the radio to talk about FLY, finding Young Adult fiction bloggers to invite to the festival, talking to people on campus to try to get more local schools involved in the festival… Hopefully we’ll do a great job!

Reading BREIS’s Brilliant Rappers Educate Intelligent Students.

Although I’m not a big fan of his music, I really enjoyed all his lyrics and the themes!

My favourite lyrics from this book: ‘Fear of Failure.’

So far, it’s been really fun and I am thrilled to be part of this festival 😀 I am excited to see what we will manage to accomplish over the next weeks and hope to be able to see some acts during the festival and perhaps even to interview an author (I wouldn’t say no to meeting BREIS!).

You can view the full FLY programme and list of workshops here

3 comments on “FLY Festival Traineeship

  1. Ravenclaw Book Club
    15 June, 2017

    I wish I could go! I’m leaving Norwich for the summer tho. Sounds like you’re having a lot of fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hannah Brown // SPW
    11 June, 2017

    Well done on your internship Anne-Sophie! I can’t attend the FLY Festival this year, but I hope it goes really well (I’m sure it will!). 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

