Anne-Sophie at UEA

An International Student of Literature in England.

Antony Gormley: 3X ANOTHER TIME

Antony Gormley’s “3X ANOTHER TIME” demonstrates, once more, how beautiful and unique the UEA campus is.

The three statues were installed on campus during the Easter break and I was super excited to come back to UEA just to see them. I think it is amazing to have such a beautiful and artistic campus and even more important to make art seen and accessible to everyone outside of museums (which links to some of the pieces by Rana Begum currently exhibited in the Sainsbury Centre – see my article about it here).

The first statue that I saw was the one on top of a building (biology?) near the Sainsbury Centre. I knew there were three statues overall on campus and I knew about the one next to the library, but I had no idea where the other ones were. Therefore, I first encountered this statue by mistake. I’d seen photos but it felt very different and strange in real life – perhaps because you don’t expect to walk on campus and suddenly see a standing figure on top of a building (and that can feel a bit weird and made my heart jump once or twice).

That’s when I realised the power such Antony Gormley’s pieces could have. Surprised so see this one there, I stopped and stared at the sky. Suddenly everything stopped, there was just me and the standing me. These statues are all about the idea of time (see the title), progression and movement. And yet, paradoxically, these statues are perfectly still. And not only are they still, but in stopping to stare at them I had also become stuck in a fixed position – thus echoing and reflecting the statues and the artist’s work.

Antony Gormley’s enigmatic work is fantastic: it reverses positions – turning the spectator into spectacle, subject into object. In a crazy world and with our very busy lives at university, it is nice to see these statues around and be reminded to take the time to breathe, stop, and think.

Leave a Reply

Follow Anne-Sophie at UEA on WordPress.com

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

